Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Young Shot

Airgun, private garden and annoying neighbour.

Hi Guys,

I have been shooting in my parents garden for nearly 20 years, it's around an acre (in the countryside), and has a nice space behind my bungalow that forms an alley.... I have set a target up one end [which catches the pellets nicely ], which is in front of some wooden sheds, I let my parents know when I'm shooting and lock the dog in doors. I have never had a problem from any of my neighbours until recently, when one of my neighbours has started getting narky [do you have a licence for that etc.... it's a BSA airsporter I use most of the time, and it's not in the best of shape, I'm 25 and I have my parents (the landowners) permission to shoot there]. I use my guns, once in a blue moon to zero it in, maybe 50 shots in an afternoon, general plinking if you will I have never fired anywhere other than my target, and it's in my garden, away from a public road with a fence well over six foot between the gardens....

Now am I right in thinking unless I do something stupid (like walk across the garden, and fire it towards his house), theres nothing he can really do???

ATB,
    Tom

Re: Airgun, private garden and annoying neighbour.

Tom

Personally I think your right along as no pellets get to go over his side. I have a similar situation here, the only difference being that my neighbour shoots as well so no problem, in fact we both have permission to use each others orchard.

Your neighbour sounds like he's a guy who might just be frightened rather than mischievous. I think I'd try to go across to his house, maybe when he's washing the car or something mundane so there no pressure, and have a talk with him - why has a he a problem etc,

It might be a good idea to have an informal discussion with your local FA Officer just to clarify the legal situation before you go to see your neighbour.